December 10, 2015

Finding Peace Through Reiki

Reiki came into my life at just the right time. My twin (premature) babies were freshly off of their supplemental oxygen and yet their colicky ways were still haunting me, my husband and … our poor duplex neighbor at the time. I was desperate for a way to console them.  My […]
December 3, 2015

Peace Begins with Non-Violence: Ahimsa

As a beginning “yogi” (one who studies yoga, take that where you will!), I could not wait to get into the 8 Limbs of Yoga. This was a concept I had frequently heard bandied about, yet had never clearly heard anyone really get into. Hours and hours of 200 level […]
November 26, 2015

Pose of the Month! November: Pigeon Pose

Ekapada Rajakapotanasana (Pigeon Pose) Looking for a posture to discover gratitude for yourself, or to express gratitude for others, Pigeon Pose is the place for you! Pigeon is a place of deep release and surrender in the area of the hips as well as an amazing expression of an open […]
November 19, 2015

Gratitude is GOOD for you!

Though we have long understood that gratitude is a good thing, after all, many of our parents have told us from a young age, to say “please” and “thank you,” and to express thanks for those who have helped us, it is only recently that the science and effects of […]
November 12, 2015

What is a Sun Salutation?

There were years, YEARS, where I fought with Sun Salutations. I knew that as a regular practioner of yoga I should enjoy them, or at minimum find them to be less of a struggle. In a sense I felt like a failure. I would arrive in downward dog, at times […]