The Ultimate Wisdom: The the Chakra: Sahasrara

What is a Yoga Nidra!?
September 15, 2016
Pose of the month: Locust Shalabhasana
September 30, 2016
Show all

The Ultimate Wisdom: The the Chakra: Sahasrara

crown-chakraAs we have been examining the chakras, the alignment with our month of wisdom with the 7th Chakra is quite fortuitous. The 7th Chakra, Sahasrara, is the final Chakra in our look at the energy wheels within the body. The Sahasrara Chakra is located at the crown of the head, and is considered the connection of the energy of the body to the universe. The idea is that, once the energy is clarified and purified it moves up through the energy wheels, and then allows us to connect with that true self.

Though we consider the connection with the 7th Chakra to be rare, and somewhat elusive, it is often the process of moving towards this idea that keeps us coming back to our mats. An easy way to make this message clear. One of the most clear ways that we give ourselves that opportunity to connect, in a beautiful passive way, is our time in savasana. After participating in our yoga practice, we give ourselves the time to let go and sink into the time to simply be. Savasana and meditation are considered the most clear ways to access and tap into the 7th character, as silence is considered essential to the eternal wisdom.

In addition to savasana and mediation, where we give ourselves the space to clear our minds and connect with that perfect, limitless being (what could be more wise!), There are also great breath techniques that align with the Sahasrara Chakra. Two of these are alternate nostril breath, which we have described in past blogs. Another is khalabhakti breath, which is a heating, clearing breath that we will describe next month!

Sometimes these moments of pure clarity last for a beat, or a breath, or beyond. The time is not the concern. Sometimes when we cannot connect with that moment, we feel lost. The process of seeking the moment is so important and precious.

A great series of mantras we used in class the other night surrounding many Chakras put together goes as follows:

“If you seek peace, be still.

If you seek wisdom, be silent.

If you seek love, be yourself.”

Becca Lee


Some aspects of the 7th chakra:

Poses: Savasana, inversions, meditation

Color: violet, white

Mantra: OM

Gems: Amethyst, selenite, sugilite